Bare shaft question

How far do y’all usually shoot a bare shaft to confirm your spine/tune not shooting paper just watching how your bare shaft flys down range?

Holocene

WKR
Depends on your skill level and use case. For all my bows, I bare shaft tune through paper to about 20 yards to get a starting tune and make sure all my arrows are behaving the same.

Then I'll shoot bare shafts to 20, 30 and 40 yards during the tuning process to watch how my form and the bow tune are acting. Dave Cousins said once he shoots bare shafts to 80! My form's not good enough to do that.

If you are shooting target archery, things are different. You can group tune a bow to shoot the best possible groups and then have a distinct tear in paper. That would mean your bare shaft is no longer with your field point group at say 30-40 yards. Are you going to return to a perfect bare shaft tune just to satisfy that intellectual itch? Or stay with the tune that shoots the best groups?

I'm not a pro -- but lately I've been interested in testing the difference between absolute best accuracy for field point groups vs. hunting accuracy with fixed and mechanical broadheads.

OP
R
As far as I shoot a fletched shaft.
Right now I’m playing with form and brace height but I’ve had tail left flight/weak with point weight that should be stiff at 20 and 30 with the fletched arrows hitting right where I want them.

OP
R
I’m starting to think it’s how much I tilt my bow when shooting I’m trying to find the sweet spot.

Wrench

WKR
Your bares will be a touch stiff....unless you're compensated for fletch weight....but you're talking high level accuracy.

I think chasing spine before form is nailed is exactly how you go broke and crazy.

OP
R
Your bares will be a touch stiff....unless you're compensated for fletch weight....but you're talking high level accuracy.

I think chasing spine before form is nailed is exactly how you go broke and crazy.