BC Mule Deer - Merritt area

Hoffer

FNG
Hey all!

Just returned from a two night pack back hunt up north of Merritt, BC on crown land. Came across a white tail doe, muley doe and a buck that wasn't legal at this time. I'm relatively new to hunting and went into this area totally blind aside from some online research and mapping. Also saw a ton of sign from moose (which mostly looked old) and deer both fresh and old. The land we were hunting is also grazing land for cattle up that way. What I would like to put out to all you out there is a few questions about the area/similar hunting areas and any experience from around there your willing to share!

Will the removal of cattle from the area back to their home ranches increase the chances of deer coming in?
Cover ground over game trails or sit and glass? (we did a combination of both and our run ins with deer were while on foot through trails/beddings)
What are the chances that non-legal buck I saw will still be there 9 days from now when he is then deemed legal?

Look forwards to any info you might be willing to throw my way! Feel free to shoot a PM.
Happy hunting everybody

Jnrod

FNG
Hey, from my experience here in Merritt, the deer don't seem to care too much about the cows and usually stay in the same area. If you see em once, odds are you will see them in the area again. September is a tough time to hunt out here. The big bucks are high and deep in the back country. If you want something smaller and know where to go, you can usually get something the start of October when any buck opens. My experience is that you're best to wait till about mid to late October just before the rut when the bucks start to come out of hiding. I tagged my 4 point on Ocotber 2nd, but it was a lot of luck and at the top of a mountain...best to hunt out here the last week of October and into November the bucks get stupid.