Bear hunting October?

I'm new to western hunting but will have an opportunity to hunt Idaho this year. I'm wondering how late in the fall can you expect good bear movement? I plan to hunt mule deer in early September and I am dreaming about also doing a second hunt the end of October. I can use this second hunt to chase deer again if I still have a tag or try some bear hunting. Because of my work schedule, the last week of October would be best for me. Is bear activity still good and do I need to worry about snow? Maybe stick to lower elevations?

I haven’t run into bears then. My understanding is they hibernate around late October to early November, though sometimes considerably later depending on the year and the bear. You would expect more bears to be killed during that time frame but very few are. Between bears slowing down for winter, using cover for food sources and staying in the bottoms a lot, and avoiding all the pressure from ungulate hunters, bears just aren’t easy to find. I went through a checkpoint in a unit with a huge bear population, huge deer population, and high hunters numbers and in late October there were just a couple bears killed over a 2-3 week period.

OP
A
Thanks for the info! That's not what I was hoping to hear but I have noticed in my research that the numbers of bears killed in the fall is substantially lower than spring. Seems all the buzz is on spring hunting.

Thanks for the info! That's not what I was hoping to hear but I have noticed in my research that the numbers of bears killed in the fall is substantially lower than spring. Seems all the buzz is on spring hunting.

Part of it is due to the interest in Spring bear hunting, no doubt. Any availability for an early season hunt starting around the August 30 opener (ballpark)?

OP
A