Beginner Glassing

Beginner Glassing

Hello, I tried to search this, and maybe I didn’t have the right keywords, but I only came up with one good thread. I have absolutely zero glassing experience. I’ve been hunting elk the past 10 years, most of which has been archery. Where we’ve been hunting, you really can’t glass too far.

I just drew an NM barbary tag and it seems like this is going to be all glassing. As of right now, I only have a pair of Leupold 10x 42’s. I’m not sure of the model(bx-4?). I think I’m ok with those, but I’ve never used anything high end before.

Sooo… obviously this is personal preference, but are most people glassing with a spotting scope or a big pair of binoculars? Could I get buy with buying a nice pair of 15-18x binos and borrowing a low-end spotter?

I felt like I would be glassing with the big binos to find the sheep, and then maybe use the spotting scope to determine if there were rams and if I wanted to go after them. Is that a safe assumption? If I could get by with just buying the big binos and tripod, I could buy much nicer. Would I carry 2 pairs of binos and a spotting scope?

What does anyone’s typical day of glassing look like?

Thanks!

BBob

WKR
I'd say the most common setup down here in the SW for many many years is 10's on your neck, 15's in the pack and a spotter if you can afford one. You can do really well with 15's as your main glass and no spotter. For my $$$ the only ones I'd consider (15's) are Meopta or Swaro. Many are fans of 12's, I own the best there but still prefer my 15's if I'm limiting myself to binoculars or binoculars and a spotter. If I'm not carrying big glass like BTX or Twins I'll be in my 15's all day long using a spotter for verification and the 10's when moving. On occasion if I've exhausted everything I can glass effectively with the 15's I'll glass with the spotter.

Id bet if your not use to glassing, big binos would be your best friend.