Beginner shooter with first slug gun. What scope?

tdvxrdob

FNG
Hi all. I'm new to shooting, and just got a mossberg slug gun. Looking for opinions on budget friendly scope and any info relevant to using it this coming fall in the woods. Should I research how to mount the scope or bring it somewhere to be done? How important is choosing the scope rings to mount? Ffp vs sfp? It's all a bit overwhelming tbh.

Thanks in advance.

Missahba

Lil-Rokslider
Budget scopes won’t have a FFP option. What you’ll be looking for mainly is glass quality (as much as you can for the price), reliability, and warranty. Try to avoid China manufacture. Get the lowest power, it’s a shotgun. Fixed power will get you better quality at a lower price. 4x or less. Do some online shopping and post what you find. You will get feedback. No reason you can’t mount it. Go to Harbor Freight if you don’t have the tools. Start building your gun-tool box.

Missahba

Lil-Rokslider

Lvthntitall

Lil-Rokslider
Look at the leupold grand slam, they are a solid scope for a slug gun, I would recommend if you have not mounted a scope before to find someone to do it for you, just make sure you can watch and learn how to do it for the next time. Whichever scope you choose just make sure it’s for a slug gun the recoil is hard on scopes that are not made specifically for slug guns.

Missahba

Lil-Rokslider
Set it up with a scout style scope.

Two of these:

One of these:

Very fast target acquisition and both eyes open shooting. This will keep zero when you switch to a bird barrel and back, maintaining the utility of your shotgun.

This is all the magnification you need for slugs.

Flyrodr

FNG
I'd consider a red dot for a slug gun. Although the better ones may be more expensive than a decent low fixed-power scope. Perhaps some of the Holosun models; the HE509T has an enclosed emitter, so a bit of water won't put it out of action like on the more common open-emitter red dot models. It's about $350 or thereabouts