Benchmade Mini Crooked River.

Prairiekid

Lil-Rokslider
Hi,

I am new to the world of higher end knives. In the past I have used Moravik, Havalon and Buck Knives in the field. Nothing wrong with them but I figured a good quality hunting knife I can pass on to our son would be really nice. I was thinking the Benchmade Mini Crooked River. It seems damn near ideal for field dressing/quartering animals in the field and I like that it has some wood. Normally I wouldn't care about the wood handle but with idea of someday passing it on I thought it might be a nice option. I also like the idea of being able to get something special engraved. Maybe a date or quote.

My question is, for those who had custom engraving done on a BM knife, were you happy with it?

Are there any other knife manufactures that I should consider for this type of application?

Cheers,

OP
P

Prairiekid

Lil-Rokslider
One other question, should it be easy enough to get any knife blade engraved?

rcb2000

WKR
Just had that knife gifted to me, I returned it.
Way overpriced for what it is,( $300)
If you want a folding Benchmade get the Bugout.
If you like that blade shape a Buck 110 is great.

Other options to consider:
Spyderco Para 3 lightweight
Benchmade Bugout
Benchmade tagged out

Last edited:
OP
P

Prairiekid

Lil-Rokslider
Many more options if you’re open to a fixed blade..
Thanks for the reply. I want the knife to be something I pass onto my kid one day, but make use of in the meantime. I am open to fixed blades. Its primary use would be field dressing and quartering deer. I have only begun the search and am not set on anything. My priorities are fit and quality, I’m not too concerned about weight.

Marbles

WKR
Classified Approved
I really like Benchmade, the Bugout is a phenomenal folder. However, if you want to pass a knife on something like a Chris Reeves or a custom knife is the way to go.