Best all around 6.5?

Sobrbiker

WKR
I’ve been shooting 65CM since 2010, so it’s my flavor of choice. Was gonna go PRC, but if I want a little bigger I wouldn’t limit myself to 6.5, esp if I were gonna do a short action magnum.

Any good 140gr .264 bullet going 2800fps out of a good barrel in a short action non-mag will do the same thing as the others. And any will take all non-dangerous North American critters within ethical range.

....I’m new so I won’t even go onto my rant about what I think of the “but what if you only have a bad shot on a quartering away elk on the last day of your hunt?” mentality.

No caliber is good for any distance beyond that which you can reliably place a shot in a ten inch circle from a field expedient position.

bigdub257

Lil-Rokslider

Has anybody been able to find out if/when these (6.5 PRC Go Wild) will be available?

Last edited:
This year when it was time to get a new rifle , I got a Tikka T3X SL Stainless in 6.5Creed. If budget was not an issue, I may have got a Christensen Ridgeline in 6.5Creed. But the Tikka has been awesome. Shoots 1/2moa with Horndady 143gr eld-x. Shot my deer at 422yards this year and it didn't even take a step. My buddy used it to drop an elk at 395 yards a few weeks ago. Walked maybe 20yards then dropped. I would definitely put Tikka on your radar if it isn't.
I’m so happy to hear you say that, I’ve been thinking about pulling the trigger (pardon the pun) on the exact set-up you have, with the intention of it one day being a longer range/mountain gun for elk/sheep/black bear.

Brendan

WKR
I’m so happy to hear you say that, I’ve been thinking about pulling the trigger (pardon the pun) on the exact set-up you have, with the intention of it one day being a longer range/mountain gun for elk/sheep/black bear.
I'm looking at a 6.5 Creed too, but not sure it would be a good choice for "longer range" Elk. I personally have a 9# 300 Win Mag for that.