Best all around Trekking poles ?

Shrek

WKR
I loved my BD Ultra Distance poles but they should be labeled Ultra Weak poles. Snapped when I needed them and I fell hard ! I bought some aluminum BD's at Cabelas but they suck ! Spongy , heavy , and long when collapsed. BD's also only carry a one year guarantee so I'm looking for a better guarantee. What is the best combination of strength , stiffness , collapsed length , weight , and guarantee ?

I'd go with a Black Diamond Whippet for an all around trekking pole, but for most of my mountain hunting I roll with an ice axe...

I hear you about the warranty. I've been running BD Alpine Carbon Cork poles now for about four years and broke a middle section on one of them this last season. After shipping, it cost me almost $30 just to get that one section replaced. By way of comparison, I had a pair of Kahtoola microspikes for about five years and just recently tore out one of the grommets. I sent them both back to Kahtoola, and they replaced the pair with their latest greatest improved model and ship them back to me free of charge.
I wish I had an answer for you Shrek, regarding the poles, but I don't. I will say that the poles that I currently own are pretty darn stout and me breaking that center section was no fault of Black Diamond. I really do like these trekking poles, I just wish they had a little better warranty.

CoHiCntry

WKR
I've had the same pair of Leki trekking poles for probably 10 or 15 years now. First and last ones I've ever bought. Expensive at the time at around $150. They are the super makalu or something like that, with ergonomic cork handles, 3 position shock absorbers and twist style locks. They have never failed me on a lot of backpacking, snow shoeing, hiking and climbing trips over the years. I'm sure you can't find the ones I have anymore since they are so old but if I were looking for some new ones I would definitely be looking at what Leki has to offer.

Mike7

WKR