Best handheld 2 bino combo for 2 people

Which 2 handheld bino combo is best for 2 people?

• Total voters

wiz329

FNG
I'm relatively new to the world of optics and hunting out west, and looking to figure out the optimal optics setup for my wife and I. We will likely be hunting both together and separately. I just got a BTX scope setup and some Maven 18s (already had a Vortex RF for archery).

I'm trying to figure out the optimal set-up for RF / handhelds for the two of us. I tend to have a "buy once, cry once" mentality, so I don't mind spending top dollar for good equipment, but I don't want to be spending extra on additional binos that won't actually be used much.

I originally was thinking to buy 8x, 10x, and 12x NLs, try them out for a season or two, then sell whichever one(s) we used the least. But, I've recently been told that BRF combo is highly recommended for rifle shooting. So I'm considering get the EL Range TA as well.

So, my question is, assuming that you were to get 2 pairs of handheld (8-12x) binos for 2 people, and one of them was a RF pair, what would you get? A few options I'm considering

Option 1: 10x NL + 10x EL TA. Rationale: 10x is great all around, may as well use it for both of us, but both of us won't need to range at the same time.
Option 2a/b: 12x NL -OR- 10x NL + 8x EL TA. Rationale: This gives you a bit more variety for different use cases -- you still get the extra magnification of the 12x that's particularly useful from a tripod.
Option 3: 8x NL + 12x NL + 10x EL TA. Rationale: this is cheating since it's 3 pairs instead of 2, but this way you have the flexibility to choose whether you want higher FOV or higher mag on the extra handheld in addition to the 10x BRF.

I know I'm likely overthinking it ... but it feels like a big decision given the price tags on these binos.

Thanks in advance.

Last edited:
OP
W

wiz329

FNG
Option 3 is most ideal but you also can't go wrong with option 2.