Best in-field system to switch from bino to spotter

Hey guys,

In the past, 100% of my time spent glassing has been freehand with binos and hiking to the next ridge to do the same. I'm new to both glassing through a spotter and glassing through binos off a spotter. I've worked the last year or so to develop an optic system that I think will work good for my style of hunting. I picked up a pair of Maven B6 10x50 binos, Kowa 774 spotter, and Sirui Backcountry tripod with VA-5 head.

Ideally, I'd like to either freehand scan with binos or attach to tripod in bigger country to scan and locate animals. Once something is located, be able to quickly detach binos and reattach spotter to get a closer look. With all the different attachments out there, does anyone have any pointers on what I'll need for both optic pieces? I haven't received the spotter or the tripod yet to play around with them. From what I've read, that part will be taken care of, I'm more interested in finding the best system to be able to quickly attach/detach my Mavens to the VA-5 head while still being able to put them in my chest harness.

I'm a big hands-on guy and like to try different things in person to see what works best. Unfortunately, I don't have a ton of access to different systems here so was hoping a few folks could weigh in. Any input is sure appreciated!

I’m not very familiar with that head but if the QD plate is the same dimensions as arca then you can get the really right stuff cinch Mount and easily swap back and forth between the binos and spotter.

JP5,

Mount a Sirui TA-70A plate to your spotter. Mount an
RRS Cinch- LR Elite to your binos. Change outs will be fast and slick.

I don't know what harness sickles107 uses, but my binos slide in and out of an AGC harness effortlessly and never get hung up like a stud will. Three of my buddies use the same system with no complaints.

Last edited:
JP5,

Mount a Sirui TA-70A plate to your spotter. Mount an