Big toe pain with new Hanwags

satchamo

WKR
Hey guys -

I have been breaking in hanwag alverstone for the last week. I would have started this process months ago but they were literally out of stock in my sizes for that long.

Anyways - i did 3 miles this morning on a local trail with my son on my back in a carrier (40ish lbs)

I’m starting to notice a pain that I’ve never felt before in boots which is like a stone bruise type pain a the base of both my big toes. It’s like stepping on a marble in that area. These boots are so stiff I think I am curling my toes a bit to try and avoid that pain. I’m not sure if these boots just don’t agree with me or if this is something an insole could fix?

For info I’m a size 14 (normally a 13 in shoes) and I wear darn tough hiking socks with padding.

I’ve been eyeballing the LS synergy beds for a few years and might bite the bullet but I’m also getting down to the wire and just might have to go back to trust Solomon’s... I just wanted to try and find a more substantial boot.

I like them so far other than this pain.

Anyone had this before or offer any advice?

Rob5589

WKR
Have you pulled the insoles and felt around inside the boot? Might be the way the boot is assembled. A new insole may or may not help if it is a design flaw.

Could be the boot not bending enough or in the right spot for your foot flex point and is over working that area. Could be muscle and fascia related from the hips down somewhere or your hips might need to be adjusted. I’ve felt a burn in that area a lot when my foot slides a little and the boot doesn’t bend.

OP
satchamo

satchamo

WKR
Could be the boot not bending enough or in the right spot for your foot flex point and is over working that area. Could be muscle and fascia related from the hips down somewhere or your hips might need to be adjusted. I’ve felt a burn in that area a lot when my foot slides a little and the boot doesn’t bend.