Biologists, the good, the bad, and the ugly

Billinsd

WKR
After I read Dwight Schuh's "Open Country Mule Deer Hunting" in the 90s and getting a master's in civil engineering, I "thought" I was an expert at getting useful information from biologists and civil engineering professors, one on one. Some states seem to have fantastic biologists. Montana biologists have been very, very helpful and responsive. Arizona too. What I struggle with, is biologists that don't respond to voicemails or emails? Or a very, very rare few that seem lazy or incompetent, like California. Other than being patient, what are some ideas for getting through to biologists that aren't responsive? I mean don't respond to emails or voicemails? How can I endear myself with these folks? : )

Run into the same problem. Only luck I’ve had is looking elsewhere, or calling. I know this sounds nuts, but my son was doing a research project, and had a heck of a time getting ahold of a guy. Finally started calling him, and just got lucky one day and caught him. Guy was super nice, but busy, and they scheduled a time to call back and he gave my son an hour of his time, and more folks to call, even one guy he could meet and do some research with. It wasn’t easy though.

OP
B

Billinsd

WKR
The obvious answer is to just hunt in Montana and Arizona, and Idaho is pretty good. However, I want to hunt other Western states. I don't expect coordinates to honey holes. Just some answers to general questions, like general hunting pressure, general herd health, access to ranges, stuff they should know, since I'm unconnected and usually solo. Montana and Arizona biologits bend over backwards to provide this kind of information. Idaho was really, really bad in the 90s, and now their biologists seem very helpful. It seems like it's a regional, management on down kinda thing?