Blacktail Elevation

BigFoote

FNG
I'm new to blacktail hunting and reading 'Trophy Blacktails'. It mentions migratory and resident deer and bases this behavior on altitude. My question is, what is high altitude in this scenario? What other signs are you looking for to determine what type of population is in the area?

Last edited:
I'm new to blacktail hunting and reading 'Trophy Blacktails'. It mentions migratory and resident deer and bases this behavior on altitude. My question is, what is high altitude in this scenario? What other signs are you looking for to determine what type of population is in the area?
what region? blacktail habitat greatly varies in different regions

I'm out of western Oregon, Eugene area.
are you planning to hunt east or west of Eugene? west, the deer don't migrate, it's not until you start getting into the cascades that blacktail migrate (in the general region you are talking about)

if you are hunting west of you, those deer will mainly be very home bodied, not going far their whole life, and besides the rut, will usually stick to a very small area.

spend a lot of mornings in July/early August glassing, find those bigger bucks while they are in velvet and visible and you will know you are hunting in the right spot.... doesn't mean they'll be easy to kill during season, but you know where they will live.... they will not be far during hunting season. when hunting him, keeping your presence low impact is key, then waiting for that buck to make a mistake (like being in the open during season on a rainy day, or catching him feeding first/last light)