Bloody Trails in MT

Had a few days left after a successful Muley hunt in MT this year and a combo tag in my pocket so I found myself in the NW corner of the state in search of elk. I’m a rookie elk hunter, it was a DIY hunt, and a solo at that, and it was late November. From what I understand, those aren’t ideal conditions for a successful hunt, but I’m not a stranger to the outdoors and I loved every minute of it. Based on rough estimates from OnX I probably covered 40+ miles in four days in snow ranging from 3” -24” depending on elevation. I was halfway through day 3 before I found any elk, in an odd sequence of events.

I was several miles from the truck, at around 4500’, working my way around the inside of a basin. It was wooded, steep, and rough. Logs were down everywhere, and the snow was over a foot deep. I had just cut a set of elk tracks, headed the same direction I was. They didn’t look to be that old, but it was hard to tell because it had snowed a bit that morning and all the tracks had snow in them. I figured I would stay close to the tracks as long as they were going the general direction I wanted to go, just in case they were fresh and the elk would be bedded ahead somewhere. There was a crust on top of the snow so it was impossible to walk quietly, but I tried to take my time, walk carefully, and stopped to glass a bit every few minutes. I was about 50-60 yards uphill from the tracks, and it wasn’t long before I heard something big crash off through the brush. I couldn’t see a thing but there was little doubt in my mind what it was. As I panned the timber with my binoculars, something caught my eye. I turned and focused, and there, not 60 yards away, was a big elk bed. What really stood out about it tho, is that the bed and snow around it was blood red. About that time I noticed another one just beyond it. That bed was even worse, wallowed out all the way to bare dirt, almost pooled in blood, and droppings all over the place.