Book about WildFires recommendation

ndmarine

Lil-Rokslider
Was hoping for a book recommendation about wildfires in the west. I grew up hearing about how restrictions on logging led to huge wildfires but then recently challenged those views after reading “This Land” by Christopher Ketcham (recommended here on rokslide - thoroughly enjoyed that one/felt like it was an eye opener) in which he argues that mature timber resists fire better than does logged areas. Hoping to learn more on this topic…

Can anyone recommend a good read on wildfires in the west?!!

AG8

Lil-Rokslider
Again, more on fire fighting than straight up fire science, but I would recommend Fire on the Mountain and Smokejumper.

Not a book per day, but there’s a bit of peer reviewed literature showing that the 10 AM policy and putting fires out has contributed to where we are at fire wise today.

I’m a student of fire until I retire and can say I need out one or two nights a week on active fire, fire history, habitat types and fire, effects fire has on fish and animals, and post fire effects. Nerding out on this topic the last 9 years has made me a better hunter, fisherman, and trapper.

Wellsdw

WKR
I would suggest gearing your search around fire ecology. That’s kinda the phase associated with what you are looking for. And yes mature timber resists fire ….until it doesn’t.(see northern Cali) then you have fire in mature growth that can devastate the land. Those areas where mature tree density is at sometime 3-4-500% of what it should be almost have to be logged selectively and appropriately. Prescribed fire will have little affect on those areas. Long story short. You can’t fix decades, hell 200 years of forest intervention in a few years for sure. Logging is needed in some areas, prescribe fire is needed in a lot of areas. And wildfires are needed in other areas. It really is a fascinating topic. Prime example of when humans play Mother Nature, we really f#%* things up. Good luck with your read