Boot fit and break-in question from a noob

Fry

FNG
Alright Im a noob to backcountry hunting. Ive hunted my whole life but never out west.

I just got two pairs of Crispis im wearing around house to see what is better fit. I find the whole size 10s fits well but no room for any foot swell. The 10.5 has a little room in toe but not much. Id say the 10.5 feel like a relaxed fit.

With my running shoes I wear an 11. Im usually a 10.5 shoe for everything but running your want some toe room for various reasons.

I know with my snowboard boots, however, you want them snug as theyll mold to your feet and stretch out quickly fitting your foot perfect.

But with this stiff hunting boots I have no clue what fit would be better: my snowboard boot snug fit knowing they may mold and stretch with use? Or a half size for room when doing long heavy hikes incase your feet swell some?

Ive hiked in trail runners for long periods but these new stiff Crispis are a new feel for me.

Any suggestions? Is there a specific thing to look for with boot fit with hunting boots? Thanks.

D S 319

WKR
I like a little room in the toe box so my toes don’t smash up against the end of the boot when walking down hill. Or if I wanted to put on heavier socks.

Reactions: Fry

The_Yetti

Lil-Rokslider
I like some room for swelling, as well as for thicker socks. Are you wearing socks that you plan to wear while hunting? I know my feet swell some when hiking for a while, but I have other foot/lower extremity issues that may make it worse for me than others.

Boots stretch out as you wear them. Lace up in the morning a little more "loose" and then relace and tighten up through the day if needed.

Thick socks can make your feet sweat causing other issues down the road. Wet feet blister easier...

Zappaman

WKR