Buddy heater burn times

satchamo

WKR
Hey guys -

Planning for my WY archery hunt this year. I picked up a 10x10 kodiak flexbow. My plan was to take a me buddy heater and run it occasionally onto take off the edge as needed. I’m curious for those who have done this in the past is how many of the small tanks it used on a 7 day hunt? This is my first time so I have no idea what to expect. But those tanks are cheap so I’m ok to have too many. Just looking for a ballpark.

And yes - I am bringing an carbon monoxide detector.

OP
satchamo

satchamo

WKR
It’s probably worth noting we’ll be at the 9000 ft range

sasquatch

WKR
Depends on how you wanna run it

Non stop all night, you’ll get around 3 nights on two bottles

High, closer to two bottles a night

Just an hr in morning to warm up, many nights.

It’s def worth bringing a regular propane bottle with the hose attachment and not have to worry about it.
This way you also won’t have to worry about leaving it on for comfort if you want to. This same bottle and hose would run a stove too, I have a setup with a Y fitting and two hoses. One goes to my stove and the other to my buddy heater

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

Tanner W

Lil-Rokslider
like Sasquatch said, running it on high all night you’ll use 2 bottles a night. 20lb tank with hose is the way to go. Going with a big tank, You won’t have to worry about lugging all the empty small bottles with you home as well.

Highly recommend getting a 20lb tank (not filled at propane exchange because they only do 75% capacity) and the Mr Buddy heater brand hose. You’ll be able to run it as long and hot as you want and will have much mess trash.

Don’t quote me on this, but in my deer blind, I got about 8ish hours mostly on low from the small bottles. This season will have a 20lb tank so I can let it rip.

boom

WKR
We ran a small green bottle all night. It was good for 7 hours if I remember correctly. I can’t remember at what level we set the heat. It wasn’t on high.