Building an optics set up for western hunting

Slatham88

FNG
Hey Everyone!
Long time lurker here, finally decided to post. I am a longtime whitetail/turkey hunter here in Kentucky (I also hunt Tennessee most years.) I am very new to western hunting and just started elk hunting last year. I have never been a big optics user, but after hunting elk last year and realizing the vastness of the country they are in, I figured that glassing/optics are a must. Up until now, my only non rifle scope optic was a pair of vortex diamondback 10x42 binos(I do plan on replacing these a high end pair.) I did, however, just recently score a set of vortex razor UHD 18x56 binos (very lightly used) for about 1100 on ebay. I have been researching and looking for several weeks to get a good spotter. I went on a backpack style hunt last year and may do that style hunt in the future. I also have my truck set up with a camper top for truck camping too, so many hunts in the future will be this style. I mostly archery hunt, but do plan to rifle hunt out west in the future.

I understand that purchasing best optics you can afford is of utmost importance. Money is not really an issue for me concerning this purchase, but I really do not like to spend money unnecessarily and am always on the lookout for a good deal. I do not want to buy something only to have to upgrade a few years later though. I would like to purchase something I can be happy with for many years. Considering my preferred style of hunting, I have gone back and forth on getting a 65mm or an 85mm spotting scope. All of these things considered, my search has led me to the Kowa TSN-773. I feel like it is the best compromise between 65 and 85, and offers top level glass for a reasonable price (roughly 2400.)

What do you guys think? I am open to any and all suggestions.

I just want a good set of optics that I can use to glass for elk out west, and also use glassing whitetails and turkeys back home.

Kurts86

WKR