Bullets for 270 (mule deer/antelope only)

BigDawgWill44

Lil-Rokslider
I am going to buy a 270 soon and I am not real familiar with the caliber, I mostly load/shoot magnums. If I was going to use only for mule deer and antelope what are some good bullet/grain choices? Shot range anywhere from 100 - 500 yards. I do reload. Thanks!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

J Dubaya

FNG
I don’t reload but I recently started shooting the new Federal Terminal Ascent. Shoots very well out of my Tikka 270.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Geewhiz

WKR
Sierra boat tails (game kings) in 130 have knocked down quite a few elk, deer and antelope for me. No reason to change.

jeremy.b

Lil-Rokslider
Factory 270's come with 1-10 twist, stick with options that will stabilize. The majority of 130gr projectiles are perfect and will do everything you want.

I had good groups (3/4 MOA or less off a bench all day) with 130gr sierra gamekings. I also had decent luck with 130gr accubonds. Neither held up well at close range, although they did their jobs!

Found and played with 133gr Shock Hammers and they consistently would group better than the Sierras and being a mono bullet had no issues with holding up.

kcm2

WKR
Partition, accubond, GMX,

There is value to controlled expansion bullets to minimize meat damage. I've killed a lot of game with a 270, from grouse to elk. Great caliber with good bullets.

A-A-Ron

FNG
I’ve killed deer and elk with 130 Barnes TTSX’s. They shoot consistently, and come out of the animal exactly how they advertise. Lots of weight retention with the way they “petal” out.