Caliber Choice For Beginner PNW Hunter?

Bucktail

FNG
Hi everyone,

I've been looking into hunting and after a lot of reading decided to go down the rifle path. This forum has a lot of posts covering this topic but I'm a terribly indecisive person.

I'm new to rifles, as in I MAYBE shot one once in my grandfathers backyard when I was 10. I'm concerned about getting a rifle that would be too much to handle (I figure I'm likely recoil sensitive), but I'd also like to get something versatile that I could carry for a long time. (No worries, I'll be visiting a friend to try his rifle before I fully commit here).

Deer are the main focus, but I'm in an area with a lot of elk and after I get experience that's definitely something I'd be interested in. I really can't see myself ever shooting over 300 yards.

I'll probably be skimming used racks to be fair (~$500), so are there any oldie but goldie calibers (/rifles) you'd recommend?

Thanks!

Last edited:
OP
Bucktail

Bucktail

FNG
Thanks for the replies everyone! I'll definitely keep an eye on these calibers. :)

If deer are your main focus with possible elk down the road, then I would recommend 308 first and then 7mm-08 second. Only reason I would recommend 308 first is the large range of factory ammo options and there are a ton of rifles chambered in it. 270 and 30-06 will kick a bit more, so if you look at those calibers, look at rifles with a muzzle break to help tame them down.

slvrslngr

WKR
I'd suggest you buy 2 rifles. First one, a 22 rimfire. Work on gun handling, shooting basics and marksmanship. The second, your hunting rifle. Lots of choices and the ones mentioned are all good ones. I'd add the 6.5 Creed to the list, not because I'm a fan boy, but because it's capable and there are a ton of ammo and rifle options, plus it's recoil is low. The 308 is also a great choice for the same reasons. Also, find a mentor, someone that shoots and hunts, a lot. Good luck on your quest!

2ski

WKR