California archery deer rant

DavePwns

WKR
I've been hunting d3-5 and d6 HARD in the Sierra mountains. It's my first year hunting in California and I'm not sure what I am doing wrong or if I am just straight unlucky. Over the past 2 weeks I have found / spotted 18 deer, 0 of the 18 were legal bucks! Do bucks just eat at night so I never see them?? Or is there an extreme poor buck to doe ratio. Anyways, I've covered a wide variety of altitude (4000-10000ft), and a variety of terrane glassing, still hunting ect. Has anyone else had a similar experience this year? Or have any advice for me?

Last edited:
I’ve been lucky to kill a buck in D3-5 the past 7 years straight on public land. There are lots of bucks and if you finding deer, they’re there for a reason. Keep looking and you’ll find bucks. I hunt till I find sign, then I keep going till I find antlers. Don’t get frustrated and don’t quit.

amassi

WKR
Your 2 weeks into a 6 year masters degree on finding finicky heavily pressured deer

18:1 would be a generous buck to doe ratio in some parts of d3-6, alot of that country simply will not support a mature buck. Sure, some guys will kill a snowflake or spork in the 90% dead zones but in my experience in d3-6 only about 10% of ground will hold mature bucks with any consistency

Further complicating things, the herds are highly migratory and are hard to pattern, they dont always go back up where you saw them the year before especially the d6 herd they have 2 sanctuaries(x8, yosemite)

theres a ton of water in the hills right now and some areas have food, water and cover so the bucks wont leave until they're chest deep in snow

Happened to notice the moon was very full last week, so yes bucks get very nocturnal

Your tags also cover about 5000 sq miles so no shortage of opportunity

Go check some of the 2015/16 burn areas, I bet the fringes and cooler zones are nicely recovered and will provide some good glassing

Sent from my SM-G892A using Tapatalk

TravKatQ

WKR