California Bear Ammo

Which ammo?

• Fed premium - Barnes TSX (180gr)

Votes: 5 35.7%
  • Barnes Vor-tx - TTSX (168gr)

Votes: 9 64.3%

• Total voters
If you had only these two options, which would you choose for California black bear? I'm restricted to non-lead, and due to the ammo availability situation, these are all I have:

- Fed Premium (Barnes TSX 180 gr)

- Barnes Vor-tx (TTSX, 168 gr)

Basically comes down to the weight difference (180 vs 168). But I'm not an ammunition expert, so maybe there's some other nuanced differences between the brands that I'm not considering.

Both shoot well from my rifle. I'm already zeroed with the Fed, and only have 10 rounds left. I'd prefer to confirm zero with a couple rounds, and use that for the hunt if there's no good reason not to. I've got a few boxes of the Vortx.

I don't plan on shooting more than 300 yards.

I've searched many other forums, and see there's a lot of debate with this kind of question. So I'm just curious what some of you experienced bear hunters think in this specific scenario.

Thanks.

Attachments

• 20211215_235641.jpg
    20211215_235641.jpg
    148.3 KB · Views: 30
  • 20211216_000037.jpg
    20211216_000037.jpg
    197.2 KB · Views: 30

Moserkr

WKR
Both will kill the bear within 300 yards if placed correctly of course. The 168 would still expand to 500 yards, the 180 to 400, assuming 1800 fps needed for expansion. Copper doesnt expand as well at lower velocities. Your ammo ballistics are listed in the links below. I shoot 180 gr Hornady Outfitter cx bullets out of my 30.06.

OP
H
I use the 180 gn TTSX. Either one will be fine for bear. Eight days left this season...
Yessir, 8 days left! I'm heading out for a 2 night backcountry trip starting Wednesday. Wish I could do a few more days, but my job doesn't agree.! Will take a pig if I see one too...