Calling all Northern California deer hunters--need input

Hi all, I'm a researcher doing a study on hunter preferences for habitat quality, hunt regulations, and site accessin Northern California.

If you hunted the Sacramento or Feather River in 2019-20 you may have run into my survey crew at a boat launch or a walk-in site at a wildlife area. We talked to over 1100 hunters in person in 2019 and 2020.

Unfortunately, most of those were waterfowl hunters. Our deer and turkey sampling got slammed by the heat, drought, and then eventually COVID, and we did not get as many upland hunters as we wanted.

I'm now trying to fill in those gaps with an online survey. It takes about 15 minutes to do and there's 20 bucks in it for you if you provide your name and address. All data are kept confidential and won't be used for any other purpose. We also have a version where you skip the $20 and don't give any personal info out.

We'll be sharing our results with hunter groups, and especially with CDFW and USFWS in hopes of representing hunters' views on opening up public access at restored habitat sites, and managing the sites for hunters' benefit. If you'd like to help out, check out the links below.

FYI you must be 18 or over, a deer/turkey/upland gamebird hunter, and have hunted actively on *public lands* in northern California at least once in the last 2 years.

thanks for considering it. I'm happy to answer questions downthread if anyone wants to ask.

if you're up for the $20
bit.ly/HunterResearch20

if you don't care about the $20 but you want to stay anonymous
bit.ly/HunterResearch

OP
HuntResearcher
You don't have to be a resident as long as you've hunted here. The more important part is "on public lands." If you've just hunted someone's private ranch, no go.

I can’t seem to get your link to work but would be happy to fill out the survey if you can get a hyperlink posted.