Can bullet choice help to prevent meat loss?

Hschweers

Lil-Rokslider
I'm not an expert in bullet construction, so I'm hoping someone that is can chime in. I hunt SE whitetails where it seems most any hunting bullet will suffice. Shots are close and deer aren't huge. Can bullet choice prevent far side shoulder meat loss without giving up terminal performance?

I.e. will a bonded core vs a monometal bullet help/hurt the meat damage on the off side shoulder? Or other bullet construction
Can expansion types (idk if that's the right term) affect meat loss? (i.e. soft point, hollow point, ballistic tip hollow point)
Can weight of bullet help/hurt meat loss? I'm shooting a 308 - would a 150gr partition cause less meat loss than a 180gr partition? This might be related to energy, but in this example the federal 150gr partition at 100y carries 2259 ft/lbs and the 180gr partition at 100y carries 2278 ft/lbs - basically identical.

I know the easy answer is don't hit the shoulder if you don't want meat loss, but stuff happens. I'm just looking for a way to minimize unnecessary meat loss since most any bullet will work for this situation. The answer might be that at 100y a 308 is just a lot of umph for a 140lb deer, and to decrease meat loss I should step down to something smaller.

Thanks!

Bullet selection can absolutely impact meat loss. The challenge is selecting the bullet that will both perform well and not blow out the meat. The tough of a bullet and when you don't hit the shoulder, it pencils. Stepping down is an option, but I don't know that it is going to get you what you want. At 100 yards, I'd probably stay with what you have.

I can't guide you beyond that, but I'd probably look to a 150gr or similar and try some different ones out keeping in mind that a bullet that expands quicker should carry less energy to the other side as it dissipates the energy inside the animal.

OP
H

Hschweers

Lil-Rokslider