Cannon ELPH

Beastmode

Senior Member
Joined
May 9, 2012
Messages
1,307
Location
Shasta County, CA
My wife got me a cannon ELPH 100 HS. This camera does not have threads for filters. It seems like the piece on the front of the camera can be removed to add an adapter for threads... does anyone know if this is possible?
 

Attachments

  • uploadfromtaptalk1362279321438.jpg
    uploadfromtaptalk1362279321438.jpg
    82 KB · Views: 19

jherald

Senior Member
Joined
Sep 16, 2012
Messages
810
Location
Alaska
Is there a hole to mount it on a tripod? If so you can use a Zeikos lens adapter on it. I believe the Zeikos adapter is 37mm, tines up rings fit on it. The Zeikos adapter is about 15 bucks most anywhere online.
 

jherald

Senior Member
Joined
Sep 16, 2012
Messages
810
Location
Alaska
I have pics of it on my Canon A1300 in my Swaro Digiscope set-up post.
 
OP
Beastmode

Beastmode

Senior Member
Joined
May 9, 2012
Messages
1,307
Location
Shasta County, CA
Yes there is a hole to mount a tripod. Im not quite sure what you are talking about.... is there an adapter that screws in to the tripod mount and that goes over the lens?
 

Matt Cashell

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Feb 25, 2012
Messages
4,174
Location
Western MT
Just use the Zeikos adapter and a Tines Up 37mm Video Scopecam for your spotter. Should work great with that camera.
 

jherald

Senior Member
Joined
Sep 16, 2012
Messages
810
Location
Alaska
The Zeikos adapter will mount to the tripod screw mount and the adapter fits right over the lens. BB lead me to that and it is awesome.
 

sk1

Senior Member
Joined
Mar 28, 2012
Messages
1,203
Location
SE Wisconsin
i have the same camera, just got it a few months ago to replace an old old point and shoot canon, works great. i chose it over the 110 hs, hoping after reading various posts that it would be the better choice for digiscoping, i haven't tested it yet other than video which came out great.
 

maverick

Senior Member
Joined
Apr 5, 2012
Messages
172
Location
Oregon
I have the 300HS and the lens is to big to work with the Zeikos. I think its the same with the 100HS. A couple posts down there are DIY pics of what I used for the 300HS.
 

sk1

Senior Member
Joined
Mar 28, 2012
Messages
1,203
Location
SE Wisconsin
I have the 300HS and the lens is to big to work with the Zeikos. I think its the same with the 100HS. A couple posts down there are DIY pics of what I used for the 300HS.

100hs works fine with the zeikos adapter, that's what I use it with
 

Juan_ID

Senior Member
Joined
Feb 25, 2012
Messages
717
Location
S. Idaho
Yup, works just fine with the 100HS...
1BF6CF1A-6BFB-4B9F-8236-50924B1F76DA-4971-000002B1ADE4A0FC_zps1a80fd57.jpg


Anyone else using the 100HS notice poor battery life while recording video??
 

jherald

Senior Member
Joined
Sep 16, 2012
Messages
810
Location
Alaska
Batteries was a big sell for me and the Canon A1300, runs on AA's. It's nice to have a pocket point and shoot that i don't have to worry about batteries staying charged. Just pop new ones in and keep shootin.
 

sk1

Senior Member
Joined
Mar 28, 2012
Messages
1,203
Location
SE Wisconsin
i havent done extensive video by any means, but just taking pics to me it seems the small point and shoot cameras last forever.....i did however buy an extra battery for the 100hs as i plan on doing more digiscoping this year....nice to have just in case and weighs less than 2AA batteries. however the down side is it doesnt serve multiple purposes like AA batteries can
 
Top