Carrying heavy loads in my Kifaru and hip pain.

Scrappy

WKR
I have had this same issue with one hip or the other and sometimes both. From reading this thread I'm convinced I just need to play with the adjustment on my frame. Thanks for all the info guys.

*zap*

WKR
I am pretty sure that Snyder said he has the shoulder straps @ different lengths to get a frame to fit him the way he wants it. I know for a fact that on my x-curve I have them set @ different lengths to have the tops of the stays centered behind my head. Set the same the top is not aligned correctly, but I am 6' and have a short torso. I am still working on using my Kifaru frame enough to get it fit correctly so I have limited personal experience with that.

OP
Trevor73402
After getting home this morning and playing with the pack I’m almost positive that I have it adjusted to where the belt is riding too low on my hips. I believe this is the problem. I also noticed the lumbar pad should be up a bit higher as well. I’ll confirm this later when I go to the gym. I’m going to shorten the shoulder straps some.

Read1t48

WKR
All good advice to get the OP on track. The ruck video and related podcast episode is worth the watch/listen.

Sounds like you figured it out. I'm picturing the belt riding too low. You may not notice it as much on a flat trek. On an incline, when you are really contracting your hip flexors, to step up (as in inclined), you are getting resistance from the belt, which is pushing or digging into the anterior proximal hip muscles. Just my humble opinion.

Make sure the middle of the belt is snugged tight over iliac crest. Sometimes when I'm hiking uphill with a load, I will occasionally get the same discomfort, which serves as my reminder, to reposition and retighten the belt, over my iliac crest.

OP
Trevor73402