Chargemaster Issue with Zero

BigDawgWill44

Lil-Rokslider
I have a RCBS Chargemaster 1500 and I keep loosing my zero. I will load 2 or 3 rounds no issues, I’ll put the powder pan back on the scale and instead of going to zero it will wonder up to .5 to .7 grains. I will hit the zero button and it will be fine for a couple rounds and it will do it again. It’s driving me nuts. Should I just keep re-zeroing with the pan or is there something else? Not sure if I am throwing inaccurate amounts or not since I am re-zeroing. My buddy said turn it on an hour before I load, usually I turn it on and start right away. I saw somewhere not to have your cell phone nearby which I usually have in my pocket. Any help?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

SawtoothShooter

Lil-Rokslider
Try some static guard. RCBS gear is famous for having massive swings that they attribute to static buildup. If that fails then it's time for the dumpster unfortunately. I hate to say, but there's a reason allot of full time shooters went to FX-120i w/autothrow setups.

OP
BigDawgWill44

BigDawgWill44

Lil-Rokslider
I just loaded up 15 rounds tonight do you think they are accurate since I was re-zeroing when there was wondering?

nhyrum

Lil-Rokslider
Yes, you do need to let the scale thoroughly warm up. That's part of the issue with strain gauge scales, they're extremely prone to drift.

Try letting it fully warm up before chucking it. If that doesn't help, an a&d fx 120 is in order

Sent from my SM-G996U using Tapatalk

SawtoothShooter

Lil-Rokslider
I just loaded up 15 rounds tonight do you think they are accurate since I was re-zeroing when there was wondering?

Negative ghost rider. If you can't guarantee a scale is calibrated to the same point and not drifting, then the charge it throws is no good.

OP
BigDawgWill44

BigDawgWill44

Lil-Rokslider