Choosing the right Outfitter

Billinsd

WKR
I'm DEEP in thought about next fall and future fall hunts!!! I'm on the phone, emailing and PMing people, looking at maps, looking at stats, and loving it!!!

Several states, north and south all West. Guided, DIY, public land and private land.

How do you all pick an outfitter for a hunt? I consider is this a bucket list hunt? Or say for elk I'm getting too old or too smart to do it alone, mostly I need the elk packed out. Mule deer I could pack out. When I look for an outfitter, the quality of the animals and reputation jumps out at me first and foremost!! It's hard to beat lots of great references and opportunity at quality animals. Then I look for possible show stoppers or things I really won't like, which is easy, because that's what I do for a living as an engineer, look for failure or problems and try and avoid them.

Has the outfitter been around for a long time, what's his reputation, what do average joe clients like me have to say? Does he have great guides? What are the accommodations, does each hunter get their own room, is everyone in a tent, a trailer? I hired a great guide for a sheep hunt and the accommodations were ok, but could have been alot better, but they were good enough and he was such an excellent guide it didn't matter. We got on each others nerves, because we were both intense. I'd hire him again and strongly recommend him!!

I look for an outfitter with great reviews and great opportunities on quality animals. Then I look at cost, is it one on one guide to hunter, and last but not least am I going to get along with the guide good enough.