Christensen Ridgeline- 300 PRC or 300 WM?....and component availability

Being a Lefty and not wanting to dump $4000 into a build, I've had my eye on a factory Ridgeline for a while. I am relatively new to the 300 Win Mag, but already own 2. A Heavy Bergara HMR and a gun I've actually grown very fond of as my all around beater rifle. An SPS in a B&C aluminum bedding block stock. Not a tack driver but consistent. Nice, svelt Hunting Rifle at 9 1/2ish.

The Ridgeline would probably supplant this rifle as my All Around rig. And probably cut a pound or so off the overall rifle. I NEVER run factory ammo and have reloaded for 35+ years. Have quality Win Mag dies and set up.

I don't think I need into the ballistic charts and minutia. Both rounds are super close in performance. There is a variance of twist with the PRC being 8 and Win Mag a 10. I really don't see myself eeeking the utmost in BC with 230 or higher. A 212 ELD-X or Berger 215 would be fine.

The issues are: Outlook on components. Bullet availability is going to be a MAJOR issue. But either would run the same, so that's a wash. Lapua claims new brass for both this year. Can I get my hands on either case? No clue. Any opinion on which will be easier to feed, find and run?

The idea of a beltless case horns me up. Maybe a sexier design too.

Any help in choosing one I could run this year and next, or however long this shit show lasts? I probably have 8+ pounds of H1000 on hand. Whatever I get is going to have to run with this....and no substitutes.

gexpro

WKR
Classified Approved
You’ve said it. Component availability. I have a Ridgeline 300PRC and love it. But not being able to find ammo for it these days is very disheartening. I was able to snag 10lbs of H1000, and a bunch of Berger 245 EOLs I plan on loading up this coming weekend. Finding brass on the other hand has been very challenging.