Clothing recommendation

louisianahunter

Lil-Rokslider
I'm looking for recommendations for hunting clothes on a trip I'm planning. I've never been hunting outside of south Louisiana so I'm new to all this gear and frankly hunting in any conditions other than from a stand when it's 55. Plans are for a mule deer hunt in the first two week of October in north west Wyoming, not too far from Yellowstone. I've looked at weather averages for nearby towns and it ranges from 25 -75, but they're several thousand feet lower elevation than where I'll be hunting. Specifically some of the pants I've been looking at are the Kuiu Attack pants vs the Kuiu guide pants (mostly because they're a little bit better priced compared to comparable sitka and first lite). I'm worried the attack pants will be to light even with a base layer underneath, and that the guide pants will be too warm when hiking up and gaining elevation.
Also in general should I be looking at insulated boots vs not? I'm not sure if I should be expecting scattered snow on the north faces or potential for several inches one night.
Also if there's any more affordable brands that I shouldn't overlook I'm all ears. I'd rather not blow tons of money on gear, but I also want stuff that'll last.
Thanks for any help, I've been reading a lot of threads on here and it's been very helpful.

OP
L

louisianahunter

Lil-Rokslider
I've also considered the Prana Stretch Zion and Marmont Scree and other cheaper alternatives, but am I crazy to think that with one of those plus a merino wool base isn't enough while up at 9k feet in early October?

grfox92

WKR
Prana Zions and a merino base layer on your legs. Merino base layer, hoody or some sort, puffy jacket and packable rain jacket. This set up should keep you covered in the area you mentioned in early October.

In 2018 I hunted the same time and same area and I never wore my base layer on my legs, just wrangler hiking pants for 10 days and I was never cold.