CO 2nd Season Impressions

jmav58

WKR
Hunted 2nd season mule deer this year in Colorado and thought I'd post and see how other people did during the hunt. I hunted outside of Kremmling and camped around 9000'. I glassed from 10,000' down to 7800' and found all of my deer on the valley floor essentially. I only found does and small bucks and ended up shooting a fork buck Monday night about 3 miles from the pickup. I didn't see any older class bucks and I'm not sure if I needed to be higher up (11,000'+) or if they were just timbered up. Overall, had a great time and look forward to other's experiences.

Popcan

FNG
I've hunted 2nd season for the past 5 seasons. I've seen similar things. I don't believe that there are no big bucks, but I haven't a clue what they are up to. My only deer encounters have been down low. That being said, I'm no expert. I have zero applicable knowledge or experience. I have seen a boat load of people, most seem to be chasing elk. My hunch is that has something to do with it.

Steelruger22

Lil-Rokslider
Just got back from my 2nd rifle hunt out there. Compared to past years I saw more people and less animals. Out of 4 other camps I talked to, 3 had never hunted that area before and were only down mid state (551) cause of the fires up north.
With that said I saw does everyday but only saw 3 different bucks from Saturday until Thursday when I was fortunate enough to harvest my best buck to date. Needless to say that this season has had its share of highs and lows

Marble

WKR
There wasn't enough snow to push those older big bucks out or the high country. Saw plenty of bucks above 10k and they will stay there for a bit. The does and smaller (less then 4.5 yoa) bucks will hang out and feed, bed and travel together.