CO Archery Limited, 3rd Wk Pressure?

swNEhunter

Lil-Rokslider
This is my first time hunting a limited season in Colorado. There's 170 archery tags in my unit. What would you say the breakout of those hunters looks like by week during the 4 week season? Do you think there's only half of the hunters still hunting the last two weeks of the season? Or do you think 80% of the hunters will wait until the last two weeks to hunt?

We are going out the 3rd week after MZ season ends, and I'm just curious as to how many hunters we can expect to run into.

Hnthrdr

WKR
It’s a crap shoot man, I’ve hunted almost the entire season the last 3 years, been in a drainage opening weekend that looked like a broncos parking lot on Sunday, then 3 weeks later it was ghost town, also had the reverse. Open weekend I thought my honey hole was safe, last week there was a small army from Illinois mixing it up in the same spot. Post muzzy depending on where you are it might be quite for a few days if it got real shook up that week but it depends on the year, the weather, and how many dudes are out there popping off with smoke poles and bugling their brains out. “I’m hunting with the smoke pole this year in a limited unit” I really hope the archers stay home that week, but you never know

Jethro

WKR
No way to tell you how many of those tag holders will be hunting the same days as you. I can say unless the unit only has a small % of hunt worthy public land, I would not expect people to be a problem. Not saying you'll be alone but should be manageable pressure. Last time I hunted a LQ unit in CO it was a 2 pt unit and didn't see another hunter in the woods. Hunted the 10 days after muzzy ended.

I’ve seen both ways. First time the unit seemed to clear out with the muzzle loader hunters. Last year, we hunted the same time frame and seemed to see more new camps every day. Weather was nice both times.