CO archery mule deer NR question

Bitter24

FNG
Sorry in advance for the novice post.

Little background, I live and apply for tags in AZ. Last year I started to apply out of state. To include CO, WY, UT and NM. As the title of the this post states I am looking into a archery hunt for CO. I currently have 1 BP in CO for deer. So for 2016 draw I would should have 2. It took me forever to learn AZ draw (about 2-3 years) so out of state draws are still new to me. I have no problem with a back pack style hunt, as I have the gear for it. I have done back hunts here in the mountains of AZ. Which is a different style of mountains though.

With the little points I have what would be units to start looking at. I am currently researching stuff through "gohunt" and I also get both EHJ's. Which I am looking at the MRS sections. Also, going to subscribe to hunterstrailhead. I get that I am a newbie to hunting out of state besides AZ and my home state of WI. So take it easy on me lol.

I would prefer a unit where I can glass country and then spot and stalk. Im used t glassing for coues deer in AZ, so glassing for mulies in the mountains should be similar. The problem I am having is getting a start on what units to look at. It would be nice to find a unit in the western half and southern portion of CO as it would allow for some scouting trips without having to much of a drive time from southern AZ.

Im sure I missed some key things so just call me out on it. I have no problem doing my research just a little overwhelming without a starting point.

-Bitter

If you have 1 point now you will have 1 point going into the draw next year. Go to the CO DNR website and look up the statistics. There is a report that shows the min points to draw each unit. This will give you a starting point as to what units you can have a chance of hunting. Just remember that just because the min points to draw may be 1 that does not mean everyone who applied with 1 point drew.