CO unit S09 Ram Archery!!

mattwill00

Lil-Rokslider
Hey all.

Been stalking Rokslide now for about a year or so now. Mostly on the elk side of things. Truthfully I never thought I'd draw a ram tag, especially with the amount of points I have (or don't have lol). I feel really lucky to even have the tag in my hand. Crazy feeling.

Anyways, this is my first time even thinking about sheep hunting, let alone scouting/planning/executing a hunt itself. I've scoured the forums here and some other places. Heard the same thing over and over. Steep, low success, etc. I'm not gonna let all that get me down though! I tend to backpack hunt elk/deer in the steepest nastiest terrain I can find (ie maroon bells) and have a ton of miles under my boots since I moved to the state a few years ago. Regardless, I've already started emphasizing more cardio in my current workouts. I know it's going to suck...

I've got a bunch of the kill sites already mapped out, a few different trails/passes marked that I plan on using to cross over into different drainages. The terrain is interesting in that it looks like a lot of the drainages are set up like fingers. Stacked parallel with the only access to them starting at the bottom. Meaning an out and back hike if you want to access anything. I'm going to try to find some sneaks this summer that might cut some of the time off...

Anyways, just throwing out a feeler to see if anyone has any words of advice for a new sheep hunter. I've already decided this will be a fully DIY hunt. Shelling out money for new glass, pack, and some new boots midway through summer scouting is expensive enough. Guide just isn't feasible. Speaking of glass, I am looking at a vortex razor 16-48x65. This will be my first spotting scope ever. Am I going to be underwhelmed with the zoom on it? I don't care about counting growth rings or finding the biggest ram, just want to know if its a half curl or not.