Coal/cbto

MeatBuck

WKR
Seated some Berger elite hunters a couple weeks ago and had fits getting a dozen loaded to the same coal. Had to adjust mic top on each one and ran several in too far while the one before was perfect. Pulled and reseated those so all were at 3.080”(mag length).
Now measuring the cbto I’ve got several different measurements and only two are the same. They range from 2.2975”-2.3090” when using Sinclair comparator.

Is this difference excessive or am I just trying to be too much of a perfectionist?

I have but have not used my vld stem but that will only maybe seat them more accurately with less fooling with mic top but wont change the variation I’m seeing in cbto right?

Tahoe1305

WKR
Not to say I’m an expert reloader, however I reload to CBTO because the way I understand it that is what matters (where the thickest part of the bullet is going to hit the rifling).

This takes out the variability in the tips and finishing process and minimizes jump differences.

If this was done you would likely expect the COAL to have the variances you describe but they in theory would shoot better.

Hope that helps.

Brendan

WKR
Don't use COAL except to make sure loaded rounds will fit in your mag. After that, everything should switch to CBTO using your comparator.

That's too much variation for me. I have found though that there's a technique to getting consistent readings - if you measure the same loaded round multiple times, are you getting the same reading?

nhyrum

Lil-Rokslider
Coal will vary because the die pushes on the ogive, and bullet shapes aren't identical and length can vary, especially with otm bullets. Seat and measure cbto, that's the critical dimension anyway.

Sent from my SM-G975U using Tapatalk

• Banned
OP
MeatBuck

MeatBuck

WKR
Don't use COAL except to make sure loaded rounds will fit in your mag. After that, everything should switch to CBTO using your comparator.