Colorado Elk 66 - archery

Howdy all!

Given my points situation, I'm confident that I can draw elk and/or deer in 66 this year and/or next. I've been doing a bunch of research and e-scouting and really excited given the variety of landscape in that unit and area generally. I'm planning to drive out and check it out after some of this snow melts off.

I'm curious about any info you all are willing to share privately. I have a few years experience spooking elk and bears in OTC units 62 and 53.

Thanks in advance!

OP
shoeshineman
I figure that since this is something like >10 pts for non-residents, someone must have experience with a guide/outfitter.

What is the grouse and small game situation? Worth bringing the grouse broadheads or not?

Last edited:

Thomas11

WKR
I hunted right next door in 67 first rifle last yr. We had a good hunt. Similar unit but I’d give 66 the nod from what I hear. I don’t think u could go wrong w that unit for archery w 7 pts. Not much u can draw beyond 5-7 pts anyway until u get to 20+ pts. I’m speaking for elk. Not sure I’d try both in same yr unless u had lots of time

Watson12

FNG
I've spent quite a bit of time in that unit and know it fairly well. Feel free to shoot me your questions and I'll try to answer them.
I just applied for the muzzleloader Elk and Mule Deer hunt as a resident for this coming fall. I last lived in Fort Collins, but now I live and work overseas with my family. Thankfully, I will be coming back to the states before the hunt. @thomas67 Is there a way I can message you and ask some questions about the unit?

Scheid39

FNG
Howdy all!

Given my points situation, I'm confident that I can draw elk and/or deer in 66 this year and/or next. I've been doing a bunch of research and e-scouting and really excited given the variety of landscape in that unit and area generally. I'm planning to drive out and check it out after some of this snow melts off.