Colorado or NM bird hunting

blake_mhoona

Lil-Rokslider
I currently have a 8 month old GSP at the trainer getting his "education" in. This is my first bird dog and to date I have never been bird hunting other than dove and duck. So i'm totally new at the world of upland hunting. I use to run retriever field trials with my lab before he died and I went through a funk of not wanting another dog and finally decided to just change up everything and go towards upland.

I originally wanted to do a Southwest Nebraska bird hunt this fall/winter with him but got to thinking; with big game draw application season coming and the mandatory purchase of a license, why not hunt one of those states?

I plan to apply to both New Mexico and Colorado for elk, assuming I dont draw (and maybe even if i do) which state and/or area of said state would you recommend? The original appeal to Southwest Nebraska was the chance for grouse, quail, and pheasants. I know that New Mexico as a whole has I believe four different quail species? but Colorado probably has more pheasant? I would be hunting strictly public land if that makes a difference.

So which would you recommend? or should i just stick to the original plan of SW Nebraska?

OP
B

blake_mhoona

Lil-Rokslider
No recommendations for NM or Colorado?

I’ve been watching a few YouTube videos on NM bird hunting. Some of them made it seem like bringing a dog wasn’t really worth it? because the birds run so much you’d have better luck just kicking them up yourself than getting the dog on point? Anybody have experience with this?

WKR
I'd suggest hunting Kansas or Nebraska this fall vs CO. Our birds were very low compared to previous years and we really don't compare to Kansas or Nebraska. I drive out there to those states many times each fall. It's worth the trip though I will say 2019 was a little less productive than 2018 for me and my dog.

cmankingsley

Lil-Rokslider