Colorado Unit 201 Bear

jray5740

Lil-Rokslider
Hello Everyone. If your like me you can feel hunting season coming soon with the release of the 2019 Colorado Big Game Brochure! I have been chasing bears in Colorado, unsuccessfully, for more than a few years now. With the point creep in most species I find myself hustling after leftover tags and OTC stuff most years and try to work a good combo hunt with a bear tag and elk.

Im gonna leave the elk tag alone this year, gather my PP, and focus on bear to hopefully tag one finally! My question is if anyone has ever chased bear in Unit 201. I see in the harvest stats nearly every year 1-2 are harvested with a total of 10 rifle tags handed out. Compared to most western units 10 tags is very limited for bear, but I would be willing to draw with my few points if anyone has any good insight for me? Possibly someone who has hunted on a very special elk tag for the unit see any bears or can speak on population size? I do have a boat load of PP's for elk and may be lucky enough to draw for 201, however if that dosent happen I would like to spend some time there hunting bear if I can dig up a few reasons to do so other than elk scouting while bear hunting haha

I also find it odd that DOW dosent include 1,2,and 201 in their DAU analysis of bear.....anyone speak on why that may be?

WKR
If you have 3 points or more and want to kill a bear, just apply in Unit 61 and hunt for a week in Sept. Place in Gunnison tans bear hides for $350 and you'll want to make some sausage.

If you have 3 points or more and want to kill a bear, just apply in Unit 61 and hunt for a week in Sept. Place in Gunnison tans bear hides for $350 and you'll want to make some sausage.
I can't figure out why most nonresidents talking about CO bear seem bent on drawing a bear tag. My thought is that if it's a draw unit there are less bears, less opportunity. Am I mistaken? I see plenty of bears in OTC units.