Complete newby could use some advice

John pettimore

Lil-Rokslider
My experience beyond day packs for whitetail is pretty limited and I could sure use some help with some suggestions for a starter pack.
I have a Slumberjack Bounty I bought for deer pack outs (public) and training but it is so uncomfortable I can’t stand to carry 40 lbs more than a few hundred yards. I have tried every adjustment I can and just cannot make this thing work but I also admit that I don’t really know what I am doing and have never had a professional fitting but am using YouTube to learn.

As i mentioned, I hunt public and carry a lock on and sticks many many miles every year witha Molle waists belt and shoulder straps on the stand. Total weight with all my gear is 35 - 40 lbs depending on how many clothes I am carrying.

I have measured my torso at 20.5 in”. Living in Illinois getting to try different frames or a proper fitting isn’t really in the cards. Intentions are for one week long trip west somewhere. Probably starting out hunting from base camp, then some overnight spike camps, before going full backpack mode... I do believe in buying quality equipment but I have a budget and a new Kifaru just isn’t in it. I thinking maybe start with a frame (but which one) and using the Slumberjack bag for awhile. Can always add a better bag later if I have a frame that works.

Sorry for the rambling but I really need to try to get a pack, especially frame, that will work for me the first time. Your suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Well man you can keep wasting money on stuff that doesn't work, or step up.
Think if you had the money you spent on the slumberjack added back to your budget.

Find a used kifaru frame.
If that hurts that bad at 40 pounds something is definitely wrong.
Sell some shed antlers, mow some laws, look around for gear your not using anymore and sell it.