Coyote calling rook looking for some help

WhiteOak

Lil-Rokslider
Hey all,

Around my place here in Eastern NM the coyotes are pretty thick. I've heard them in my back 40 and on both sides all at the same time I only hear them at night but I've had 2 cruising along my fence in the afternoon on different occasions hit one missed one. I just picked up a few head of sheep and would like to take a few yotes out and send a measage.

Problem is I haven't been able to call any in when I try to hunt them. I have a duel calls howler and can make decent yips and barks and decent rabbit distress calls.

How do y'all get the yotes to come in? I know the electronic calls will just loop on repeat, do y'all do that with the mouth calls too? Calling over and over for 15 20 mins straight?

If you could give advice to a first time caller what would it be? Get an electronic call? lol

Thanks in advance

I am no expert but I sure have a lot of fun calling them and have had good success. You will find that you might call at 4 different sites and get nothing and then the next one you will call one in 5 minutes into your session. Same with the one following it. Just be persistent.

I use a Sceery rabbit call. I prefer it over the electronic calls. It's just simple and it works. I suggest getting a mouse squeaker bulb also. If there is no wind they can pick up that little noise from 150 yards away and often that's all it takes to get them to come in on a string. I start with the dying rabbit and then when I get a dog in close I use the mouse squeaker.