Crap You've Broken On Ya Huntin Rig

pk_

WKR
I've heard for years how the IFS was such a weak link on GM trucks yet I've been driving them for thirty years in some stupid situations and never a problem nor have I ever heard of anyone with a problem. I'm sure it's happened. Definitely not common....sorry.

Sent from my LM-G820 using Tapatalk
Are you lifting with large tires?

This thread has potentional.

Anyone busted IFS on 2500/3500 Chebbys?

I went with a buddy with an 06 2500 duramax on 35”s we went thru 3 tie rods on his rig in a weekend just doing basic shit not even difficult terrain. My truck was in 2wd pretty much the whole time. Granted he does have a heavy foot. When he twisted the first we ran to town and bought 1 and swapped it. When he pretzeled that one we went to town and bought 2, when he was on his last we told him he’s not allowed to put it in 4wd we rather just snatch him than have to run back to town…

They are fine trucks I have owned a few and wrenched on a bunch, but the IFS is too petite for a trail rig. Especially if the driver is heavy footed and large tires.

OP
Idaho4x4Bronco
Are you lifting with large tires?

I went with a buddy with an 06 2500 duramax on 35”s we went thru 3 tie rods on his rig in a weekend just doing basic shit not even difficult terrain. My truck was in 2wd pretty much the whole time. Granted he does have a heavy foot. When he twisted the first we ran to town and bought 1 and swapped it. When he pretzeled that one we went to town and bought 2, when he was on his last we told him he’s not allowed to put it in 4wd we rather just snatch him than have to run back to town…

They are fine trucks I have owned a few and wrenched on a bunch, but the IFS is too petite for a trail rig. Especially if the driver is heavy footed and large tires.