Crispi Thor II GTX...a more flexible sole alternative?

TexDoc

Lil-Rokslider
I've been running Crispi Thor II GTX boots for the past two years and overall I love them for a lightweight, fast boot that lets you scramble on the sidehills with a lot of support. Where these bad boys let me down is when I carry more than about 30-35lbs for several miles. They become painful at about mile 3 and those ultra stiff soles feel like punishment, I don't have this same issue with Briksdals but those are a warmer boot that I reserve for later in the season. Does anyone else have this same issue? Do you have a hack for this or a different boot recommendation for lightweight "haul the mail" boots? I've heard the HanWag Makra can fill this slot but I've never owned any HanWags. I will keep the Thors for early season day hunts when I can hunt close to the rig, but if I want to carry 50lbs or more I have to do something different.

Sako300

WKR
I’m running these for heavier loads and more cushion in my thors

Attachments

• 06AA99B8-426E-4FF3-AD8F-00BD244D4597.jpeg
    06AA99B8-426E-4FF3-AD8F-00BD244D4597.jpeg
    280.6 KB · Views: 80
OP
TexDoc

TexDoc

Lil-Rokslider
I have some Superfeet insoles in them, but I don't think they are the trailblazers. I'll have to check to see what I have. I definitely want to keep the Thors but I need to be able to stand them for more miles with more weight!

cmahoney

WKR
I’m looking for a boot between my Soloman xultra mids and Crispi Nevada’s. I was up in some really rocky stuff a couple weeks ago and the bottom of my feet were hammered because of the soft soles on my solomons.

Would you guys recommend the Thor’s with a good insole?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Last edited:

MattB

WKR
The Salomon Quest 4D GTX fits about like the Thor with a more pliable sole.