Curiosity...What do you think of your state's draw system????

ScottR_EHJ

WKR
Rokslide Sponsor
And go....

I'm curious as residents usually have an inside track on the way their own system works. If you are a non resident I would be curious what state systems you guys prefer.

5MilesBack

"DADDY"
I've been a CO resident my entire life (55+ years), and I like our draw system. Outside of moose, sheep, and goat you can calculate pretty easily when you'll draw a specific tag.......unless you're just getting started and just HAVE to hunt one specific unit that takes 25+ points. Even moose, sheep, and goat seems to be well accepted. I know quite a few people who have drawn multiples of those tags over the years, so it can't be half bad. But going forward.......who knows.

bsnedeker

WKR
I'm in Montana. I hate all bonus/preference/etc. systems with a passion. Everything should be random draw.

I do like MT's system where you put in your 1st, 2nd, 3rd, choice before a deadline and then have a drawing 2 weeks later. The systems where people have to log in and wait in line for their turn (Idaho?) seem crazy to me.

I will say I get a perverse pleasure out of how complicated NR's seem to think our draw system is.

sndmn11

WKR
I am in Colorado. By couple wishes for change:
1). I wish that when leftover tags came out in August, you would only eligible to purchase what you had applied for in your first through fourth choices. I think this would ease a lot of the system crashing, and force people to commit to a certain set of possible plans.
2). I wish that once a hunt code draw gets over 5 points, it triggers the hybrid draw scenario in that year's draw, rather than it occuring 5 years down the road or whatever time period it is now.
3). I wish that youth had a larger allocation in general, or a special season in some higher end units.
4). I wish that 2nd draw and leftover tags were automatically reclassified as list B.

slick

WKR
Our seasons are all over the place.