Custom Build Thoughts and Gunsmith Recommendations

123efd2

Lil-Rokslider
Hey guys,

Tired of shooting my pre-64 model 70 and want to build a long-range tack driver for hunting, shooting 140-180 gr bullets with primary being 168 berger. I am relatively settled on a 280 ai since I am a fairly recoil-sensitive shooter. After researching, I have come up with the following build:

*Disclosure. I am new to this and know nothing. All thoughts and criticisms welcome.

Stock: AG Composite Adjustable Alpine Hunter. I understand the weight cost of going with an adjustable comb but I have a very high cheek and no standard drop combs fit me.

Barrel: Proof Research Carbon Fiber 24in w/ 1/8.4 twist. Hopeful that an 8.4 twist will accommodate 180-198 gr bullets without adversely affecting 130s-140s. I believe a 24in barrel will give me enough room for full powder burn on faster burning powders and save me the inconvenience of a 26in hunting rifle.

Action: Defiance Machine Ruckus GA Hunter nitrite coated with .003 tolerance

Trigger: Triggertech Diamond

Scope: Leupold VX-5HD 3-15X44 CDS-ZL2 SIDE FOCUS DUPLEX

No muzzle brake. 280ai only recoils 18lbs and I'd rather not worry about ear plugs in the field. No bipod. I shoot off my pack or trekking poles.

Is there anything in the above that seems like a not great idea? Also, I am located in Florida. Does anyone have any recommendations for a well-respected gunsmith who could put this together for me somewhere in the SE or anywhere for that matter but SE preferred?

Thank you for your input and good luck this season!

Alex Wheeler built me the best rifle ive ever touched. He is in Montana and specializes in LR benchrest and LR hunting rifles

Dave Tooley in eastern NC

These are the two gunsmiths I would/will use going forward.

For someone that is recoil sensitive, and hunts without ear pro I would really suggest a can.

archp625

WKR
Hey guys,