Custom Rifle build, with help

khmplus

FNG
Hello, I’m new to the custom rifle arena, and I would like to run a scenario past you to see if it isn’t completely crazy. I am a woodworker and recently built a router duplicator that can be used to duplicate gun stocks. I have also accumulated many high grade walnut stock blanks through harvesting a few large black walnut trees over the years. I would like to purchase rifle components through a custom builder such as Alamo Precision and have them assemble the barrel and action to ensure proper head space, etc. The builder would then send the assembled action and barrel to me along with a trigger and bottom metal, etc, and then I would fabricate the stock, do the bedding and finish assembly. I would be hoping for an accurate yet beautiful 6.5 PRC out of this labor of love. What pitfalls and critical steps do you see in this process? Thanks in advance for your advice!

Great Idea, the only pitfall is your ability to create a a quality stock. I'm certainly not a wood worker so I can't help you there but it would be a great project. I say go for it!

kevin11mee

Lil-Rokslider
Could be really cool. Just a few ideas:
1. Maybe consider a custom action like Defiance, Big Horn, Impact and then you can simply install a prefit barrel with guaranteed headspace.
2. Wood stocks are cool as long as you are ok with a bit more weight. A wood stock (as you know) will always be somewhat susceptible to moisture, so make sure you have a finish to keep the wood protected.

OP
khmplus

khmplus

FNG
1. Maybe consider a custom action like Defiance, Big Horn, Impact and then you can simply install a prefit barrel with guaranteed headspace.
2. Wood stocks are cool as long as you are ok with a bit more weight. A wood stock (as you know) will always be somewhat susceptible to moisture, so make sure you have a finish to keep the wood protected.