Custom Rile build

OP
Doddse1

Doddse1

FNG
AG actually makes the blanks for Mesa, but I went with them because it was the lightest option in that profile at that general price point and they had the shortest lead time. This was my first custom so I'm no stock expert, but I do have to compliment Mesa because when my stock showed up to the smith it had the wrong barrel inletting and they had a new corrected one in hand in less than 2 weeks. I liked the feel so I talked to sales and they gave me a decent discount on another one for another build.

I'm heading down the whisper tube trail soon as well so all my barrels will be getting replaced with shorty's also.
looking forward to seeing how the shorty works for you. Ill make some calls this weeks to stock companies and see what the lead times are generally. I've heard manners can be like 6-9 months and im trying to have this done by october deer season and ready to go

My 2 kids, wife and I all hunt. Elk and mule deer are our primary species, with goat, antelope, bear, etc. as tags/opportunity present themselves. You’re wanting to hear options, here are my thoughts…

My first build 4yrs ago was a “light” 300WM. Lone Pk Arms action, 24.5in Proof Scendero, HS Precision metal/mag, NXS 5.5x22x56. Shooting Berger 215s.

Next, I had my wife’s Sako 85 300WM rebarreled with a 22in Proof Scendero Light. NX8 2.5x20. Shooting Berger 215s. I would say “lighter”.

This fall, went “ultra light”. 6.5CM in a 4lb 12oz rifle. Defiance AnTi, Hawkins metal/mag, 18in carbon wrap. Added an Idaho Suppressor Co OTB suppressor and an NX8 2.5x20. Someone could argue an ounce or 2, or talk titanium action, but the rifle is just about as light as you can get. I added the suppressor and NF because I wanted them. If ultra light was the ultimate goal, obviously the suppressor and scope selection could change.