Dall sheep hunting Brooks Range

Indyal

Lil-Rokslider
Hi, I just found this forum researching sheep hunting in Alaska and have just registered. I met Lyle Becker of Alaska Skookum Guides at the Harrisburg Great Outdoor Show earlier this month. He had a cancelation opening and I have booked a hunt with him this August. I had been thinking I would be 2-4 years out.

I have done multiple elk hunts in OR, WY, ID and C) and 3 Aoudad hunts in New Mexico and TX so I feel I have some experience. most of the CO hunts have been DIY

I bought a Mystery Ranch Marshall for the trip(discounted since on close out) as my largest pack was a Kifaru Siwash and the recommended gear did not fit.

I sleep colder now than I used to when I was younger. I have a Therm-a-rest Neoair and older Wiggy's bag rated either 0 or 20 degrees, not sure now. I had had this bag since the mid 1990s. I used it in Alaska on a float hunt for moose in mid Sept and it worked well.

I will be using my .300WM as that is the only rifle I own that is larger caliber than a .22LR. I have great confidence in it and it is a sub MOA. I put a Jewel trigger in it set at 2.5 lbs. It is 10 lbs with scope however. But I don't really think I have the time to purchase a lighter rife and get comfortable with it before this August.

I am good to go on my clothing I believe. Mostly KUIU stuff. Boots are the Cabelas Meindl mountain boots which I believe are no longer offered and well broken it.

My main issue is that I will be 64 yo at the time of this hunt. I am more or less following the Man Ops training routing.

I have not seen on the posts I have read here so far but read somewhere else that it is a good idea to have a small candle to provide some heat for your hands.

I have a wide variety of reading interests and would appreciate any suggestions on book to read if weathered in and stuck in the tent.

Any other thoughts or suggestions about Dall sheep hunting would be appreciated.

Regards.