Danner Thorofare Review

I just ordered a pair of Thorofare boots directly from Danner. With tax, the price shipped to California, is $545.

Over the next couple of weeks I’ll post a review of the boots during break in and use. I’m hopeful these turn out to be a great “Made in USA” alternative to other high end boots.

I did as much research on these boots as I could. Being new, there just isn’t much information out there. I appreciate the guys here on Rokslide that did post on this boot and Danner’s Cragrat.

I’ve owned Danner boots in the past and have had mixed results. Most recently I had a pair of their Combat Hikers. Overall they were good to me, but were too short and didn’t offer the ankle support I thought I needed to carry the heavy hunting pack.

I work in the road construction industry and wear leather boots every day. My leather boots are comfortable, but not suitable for hunting or carrying a pack in the mountains. My current hunting boots are Belleville 950s. The Bellevilles are actually a decent boot for the price, but the stitched rand and factory insole leave a lot to be desired.

Before ordering, I wanted to give myself the best opportunity to get the right size. Hopefully I don’t have to deal with sending the first pair back to get a different size. I generally seem to wear a 10-1/2 to 11 size in “wide”. Danner’s website says their boots are true to size so I purchased an Anodyne foot measuring device on Ebay. I have had mixed results over the years with stores measuring my feet, so doing it myself seemed to be the best route and it was’t that expensive.
F8738CD8-8961-4700-8D7D-26E8C3F5A996.jpeg
Current shoes/boots and Anodyne.
I’ll post more when the new boots arrive in a couple days.

Last edited:
OP
M
Boots arrived on time. Initial impressions are positive. The boots exterior looks smaller than my other 10-1/2 size boots. Initial fit seems OK with what I would consider my lighter socks (darn toughs).
350E5EEC-7C90-463A-8E8F-AF73AD053E2A.jpeg