Debone or just Quarter?

Rich M

WKR
You guys who do this regular - do you prefer to pack out quarters with bones in them or bone the meat and pack it like that?

I'm seeing some folks talking about meat balling up and spoiling.

I prefer to leave it on the bone. In my opinion it seems that the meet carries better that way. I've tried the bone out method a couple of times and it seems that the meat all settles to the bottom of my pack. JMHO

Newt

Lil-Rokslider
I've done a mix. Bone in - rigid in pack, little bit heavier. Bone out - looser in pack, little bit lighter.

I am going to do only bone out this year, but only because I got smaller cylindrical bags to put the meat in so that it won't ball up. I am planning on having to pack a ways, and I want to save as much weight as possible.

Bone in for me. Bone out I only did once and it was a hassle (I was a rookie when doing it) to do because I couldnt get it to stay out of a huge blob. I didnt do a good job boning it out either and the butcher was a bit annoyed. Feel like I should probably bone out again someday with the proper bags but for now its bone in as it keeps it simple for me. Good on the guys who bone out though.

[email protected]

Lil-Rokslider
It depends on how far the truck is and what’s between me and the truck. Over 3 miles or super nasty country I’ll bone it out. If it’s less than 3 miles and not bad steepness quarter it and go.

mmac

WKR
Just saw this from Arizona if we bring meat back it has to be deboned or processed already. Probably doesn't impact a lot of people, but putting it out there...

5MilesBack

"DADDY"
Seems that a lot of folks would say otherwise, but I waste a lot less meat boning it out. Never had it go bad boning it. Never had it go bad quartering it either, but I don't care for the crust I always get on bone-in.

1shotgear

WKR
Rokslide Sponsor