Deciding on where to buy points?

st59

FNG
Hey y’all,

Being from Texas I’m new to the western side of things, I have an interest in bow hunting for pretty much anything out west, but interest mainly is moose and big horn (I know, long shot)

But my main question is if I’m at ground zero when it comes to preference points, I gohunt worth it, even though I’ll probably just do OTC elk/pronghorn for a while, until I build up points?

I’m young (21) so plenty of time to grow points. Just don’t know the best way to get started on this side of things. Any help on gohunt.com or anything similar is hugely appreciated!

wapitibob

WKR
You missed AZ Elk by a few weeks. Should have bought the license and a point; license would be good for next year too. Not the case for a license bought next year as the dates kick back 2023.

Utah Elk you can buy the license and a point up to March 18 and it'll be good next year too. If you want to apply for a hunt you'll have to do it by March 4.

WY Antelope/Deer app period ends June 1, If you don't draw buy all 3 points later in the point only period.

Those three will provide some value for your money with AZ/UT getting two years off the license. All 3 species points in WY is $125. AZ is about $95/year for Elk, UT is about $50. AZ and UT will be a raffle tickets for a while but better odds each year because they use Bonus Points. Look at units with the best random odds in UT and you might look at late archery in AZ for better odds at hunting sooner.

j_volt

WKR
There isn’t a wrong answer, but I can share what I did.
Year 1: Wyoming only
Year 2: Arizona + Montana + WY
Year 3: Colorado + MT + AZ + WY
Year 4: Utah + Nevada + CO + MT + AZ + WY
I wish would have started all in year 1, but I started this as a broke college kid. Desire and income have led me to more states. I recommend everyone think about what future them would want as this takes some time. I’d pay double (or way more) to go back in time on some states.

Rich M

WKR